ickstream.com

Home of the ickStream Music System

tidal Lossless on ickstream playing MP3

tidal Lossless on ickstream playing MP3

Postby frvanhoudenhoven » Fri Nov 14, 2014 9:40 pm

just installed the login on my squeezebox running on OS X, excited to try out Tidal Hifi.

I am finding that everything installs fine, remote works, and music plays. However music plays in MP3:(

I then enabled Qobuz on Ickstream since i have a HiFi subscription that works great using the Qobuz plugin However same result - service plays MP3 through Ickstream.

Any suggestions? i looked for settings, but could not find anything. Rebooted LMS server, but no luck

Thanks
frvanhoudenhoven

Re: tidal Lossless on ickstream playing MP3

Postby joerg » Fri Nov 14, 2014 9:56 pm

Is bitrate limiting enabled for your player in LMS?
Which album were you trying? Not everything on TIDAL is available as FLAC, yet
joerg

Postby frvanhoudenhoven » Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:15 pm

stream bitrate is set to 'no limit'. I tried couple of albums/tracks that i know are HIFI on Tidal (played them direct in the Tidal app on mac and iPhone). They play MP3 in ickstream.

Same with Qobuz, where i can play through LMS plugin direct at HiFi quality, or again in the Qobuz app, yet when playing through ickstream i get MP3 quality...
frvanhoudenhoven

Postby joerg » Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:26 pm

OK, there's a bug in the format display code which makes it sometimes display MP3 although what you are actually streaming is FLAC.
For me, this goes away for example if I play an album and skip back and forth between tracks. When I play a track for the second time it's shown as FLAC.

I'm actually not even sure Qobuz even _has_ mp3 streams...
joerg

Postby remd » Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:55 pm

I just double checked as I was seeing the same thing.